FVA Teacher Awards 2021


Nomination forms for teacher awards must be submitted by the deadline of April 23, 2021.

Description of Awards

The FVA Hall of Fame award recognizes current and former classroom teachers who have exemplified the following:

  • Excellence in the teaching of music and is renowned in the area of vocal and choral music education
  • Noteworthy contributions through dedication and service to vocal music education, with special emphasis on outstanding service to FVA

The FVA Roll of Distinction award recognizes teachers no longer active in the classroom who have

  • Demonstrated excellence in the teaching of music and are renowned in the area of vocal and choral music education
  • Demonstrated noteworthy contributions through dedication and service to Florida’s vocal music education, students and their community


  1. Must be a current member of FMEA and FVA. (Retired or Active- unless nomination is posthumous)
  2. Served as a choral director in Florida and was active with FVA for a minimum of 20 years.
  3. May be an active or retired classroom teacher

Who can nominate

  1. Any FVA member
  2. Self nomination
  3. The nomination/award committee


  1. Nomination form (below) must be sent to the Awards Chair by April 23, 2021.
  2. Recipients of the award will be notified by May 15.
  3. An Awards ceremony and reception will take place on the Friday of the Summer Conference.

Click here to nominate someone
for a FVA Teacher Award

Past FVA Honorees

Roll of Distinction

  • 2010: Anne Folsom, Gretchen Marz, Sandra White
  • 2011: Edna Hargrett-Thrower
  • 2012: R. Wayne Bailey, Jim Copeland, Barbara J. Smith
  • 2013: Betty Mullett, John Rose
  • 2014: Ronald C. Corbin
  • 2019: Greg Carswell

Hall of Fame

  • 2010: Harold Bradley, Elaine McNamara, Phyllis Merritt, J. Richard Warren
  • 2011: Peggy Barber, Jim Forssell, Raymond Kickliter, Andrew Wright
  • 2012: Earl F. Little, A. Byron Smith
  • 2013: Beth Meadows, Ree Nathan, John Yost
  • 2014: James W. Hughes, Woodrow W. Nail Jr.
  • 2015: Jackie Hails, Barbara Kingman, E. Tyrrell “Terry” Owen
  • 2016: Judy Arthur, Karen Bradley, Michael DeShong, J. Mark Scott
  • 2017: Keitha Bledsoe, Dale Choate, Danny Compher, Beth Cummings, Deborah Mar
  • 2018: Jamie Bryan, Connie Drosakis, Michael Dye
  • 2019: Julia House, Mary Catherine Salo