What’s New?

2017 All-State Reading Chorus

The Florida Vocal Association is proud to recognize the students with the highest scores on this year’s All-State Sight Reading Test with membership in the 2017 All-State Reading Chorus! This year, the Reading Chorus numbers a little more than 100 singers, including 29 students who received a perfect score of 40 measures on the test!

These students will have the opportunity to read over 50 pieces of music (including one selection live on stage) with their conductor, Dr. Trent Brown from Florida Gulf Coast University. Congratulations to these singers, their directors, and their schools for this distinction!

2016-17 All-State Omnibus

It’s here! The All-State Omnibus is a resource for directors containing all of the information for the 2016-17 FVA All-State Chorus audition cycle. If you can’t find the information you need in the Omnibus, please consult the FVA Handbook or contact Jason Locker, All-State Chair.

State MPA 2017

The dates and locations of the 2017 FVA State Music Performance Assessments have been finalized. Complete the registration process as soon as possible after your District MPA events for the best chance at securing preferred dates/sites.

State Solo/Ensemble MPA

  • North: March 24-25, 2017 at Santa Fe College (Gainesville)
  • Central: March 30-April 1, 2017 at Seminole State College (Lake Mary)
  • South: April 7-8, 2017 at Palm Beach Atlantic University (West Palm Beach)

State Choral MPA

  • North: April 17-18, 2017 at Faith Presbyterian Church (Tallahassee)
  • Central: April 24-27, 2017 at First Presbyterian Church (Lakeland)
  • South: April 19-21, 2017 at American Heritage School (Plantation)

View complete details on the State MPA page.

Stetson Choral Festival 2016

2016 Stetson Choral Festival (October 7-8, 2016)

Given the tragedies in Orlando, and around the world, It will be a special festival, as we are planning a theme of togetherness and how each of us can be an instrument of peace.  Please find the two links below for festival information and online registration.  As in recent years, we will be sending you music packets once you have registered your students.  The deadline for online registration is September 26, 2016.  Many thanks, and peace to all of you
-Timothy Peter

Elaine C. McNamara Scholarships

Each year, FVA honors former Executive Director and Hall of Fame member Elaine McNamara by awarding scholarships in her name to first-year college freshmen majoring in Choral Music Education.

Applications must be postmarked by September 15, 2016 to Mark Scott, FVA Executive Director. The recipient(s) will be announced at the FMEA Conference in January!